First Post – A Bit About Me

Hi everyone!  I have created this site so I can ramble about all sorts of things, mostly life and what’s going on in mine.

I am a 34 year old Mum to three boys, 7, 5 and 3.5 years of age.  I am living in Auckland, NZ but soon to move back to Christchurch to be a more active parent to my boys who live with their father, my ex husband of two years. I originally moved to Auckland to access Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT) for Borderline Personality Disorder from which I was suffering with terribly two years ago.  I have been in therapy which consisted of a two-hour group session and one hour individual session every week for a year now and will be finishing up with my therapist in two weeks time.  I am happy to report that after a lot of mental health struggles, I no longer meet the criteria for any mental health diagnosis and have reduced my medication to almost nothing.

So, I am moving back to Christchurch next month now that I am well and able to manage my children better.  The children call me via FaceTime twice a week and I have been visiting them roughly once a month for the past 19 months. It has been extremely difficult dealing with the minimal contact and I’m looking forward to seeing them more often.  My ex has thrown a curve ball and seems to be feeling threatened by my return to Christchurch. He has gone to the Family Court and applied for a without notice parenting order.  I have been portrayed as unreliable and a threat to my childrens’ psychological and physical wellbeing. While my mental health issues were life-interfering 18-24 months ago I have been nothing but consistent since moving to Auckland.  All accusations made in the parenting order are false or exaggerated but the judge has granted an interim order based on my ex’s statements.  I have put in my response to the court and basically refuted everything that was said about me. I don’t know what the outcome will be, I’m not disputing that my ex has day to day care of the children as he has had this since we separated over two years ago but I don’t want him to be able to make all the decisions about when I can have access to the children. I am hoping the judge will make us go to mediation to sort out a care arrangement that works for everyone involved.

I am currently studying for a Certificate in Animal Welfare Investigations with the intention to eventually become an SPCA inspector.  I can’t say I’m really enjoying the course, it has been quite difficult, involving a lot of legal study.  I have however applied for an intern inspector position with the SPCA and have apparently been shortlisted, just awaiting a confirmation email to come early next week.  The position starts early next month and would work in well with my studies and return to Christchurch so I have my fingers crossed!  I am also a qualified veterinary nurse, having worked in this area for 13 years on and off so I have also applied for a couple of jobs in this field and have an interview in August with an awesome clinic.

That’s basically a snapshot of everything going on in my life at the moment.  I’m looking forward to updating as things progress 🙂